Upcoming events

Log in
Log in

June President's Message

May 24, 2021 3:25 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

It has been an honor to serve as the 2020-2021 president of TEMPO Madison. I could not be more proud of the TEMPO Madison Board of Directors. This past year was like no other – from a global pandemic that has forced unimaginable changes in our lives to civil and racial unrest. Despite the challenges, the Board and committees successfully adapted programming and events to meet members’ needs every step of the way.

On our journey, we seamlessly transitioned remotely by continuing our partnership with the Wisconsin School of Business primarily offering professional development workshops through the Leadership Series. TEMPOShares raised over $4000 in scholarship funds for deserving young women and, to enhance the organization’s brand, we sold t-shirts, showcased monthly luncheons and other networking events, and jumpstarted plans for the DEI committee and the 40th anniversary.

It has been a remarkable year enhancing our membership. We welcomed 24 new diverse, talented TEMPO Madison sisters. Joining an organization during restricted in-person gatherings coupled with limited access and interaction with others can be challenging to navigate as a new member.

To that end, I would like to extend a very warm welcome to our 2020-2021 TEMPO Madison members:

 Deborah Biddle Mary Kolar Sarah Sorum
 Jennifer Conroy Beth Larson  Nikki Stafford
 Susan Davidson Tanya Lettman-Shue Carrie Van Hallgren
 Angela Davis Karen Menendez-Coller Mai Zong Vue
 Anna Engelhart Kathleen Murphy Nasra Wehelie
 Brittany Graber Wendy Perkins
Terri Lynn Yanke
 Jennifer Gregor Kristen Roman  Lydia Zeller
 Jennifer Harrington Marilyn Ruffin Shiva Bidar-Sielaff

Although it was disappointing not seeing everyone in person during my presidency, thanks to technology, I had the opportunity to connect with many of you and learn about your diverse backgrounds and professions. Our time together affirmed that our members bring their own unique experiences, voices, creativity, and vision to the table, making this an extraordinary organization. 

At the June 8th annual meeting, I hope you will join us for the virtual celebration of this year’s scholarship recipients, the election of the TEMPO Madison Board of Directors, approval of bylaws, and passing of the (virtual) gavel to incoming president, Elaine Rich.

In closing, thank you for the opportunity to serve at the helm of leadership of TEMPO Madison. Your support, encouragement, and inspiration have made the journey incredibly rewarding. 

Leslie Petty, PresidentTEMPO Madison

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software