Log in
  • Home
  • Connect
  • WSB/TEMPO Executive Leadership Speaker Series

WSB/TEMPO Executive Leadership Speaker Series

We are pleased to announce the continued partnership with the Wisconsin Evening & Executive MBA Programs at University of Wisconsin-Madison, and exclusive sponsor Summit Credit Union, for the TEMPO Leadership Series. Tickets for members and guests are $60 for the two-part series or $35 for one-session. 

We are excited to offer the 2019-2020 breakfast sessions at the Madison Club, located at 5 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703. Invitations will also be extended to Madison area women’s business groups. Tickets for members and guests are $35 for one-session; $60 for both sessions.

Your payment for participation in these sessions directly benefits the TEMPO Foundation and supports TEMPO scholarships. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests at this year’s series.

Next Session

Session 2:Tuesday, April 28, 2020 at 7:30 a.m.
Get Onboard: Pathways to Corporate Board Leadership

Lindsay Hammerer, partner at KPMG and chair of Milwaukee Women, Inc.

Join Lindsay in a discussion about pathways to corporate board leadership to change the face and quality of leadership in the Wisconsin business community by increasing the number of women corporate directors. In 2018, 12 of the top 50 Wisconsin public companies had three or more women directors on their boards, an increase of 33% from 2017. While this is encouraging, there is still much work to do. This event’s discussion will promote the research concerning the value of diversity in corporate governance and management, and eliminating barriers to full inclusion of women in leadership positions, as well as focusing on the practical conversation of how to navigate and intentionally craft your pathway to corporate board leadership.

Click here for more information and to register for Session 2

Did you miss the first event? Information to be posted by Mid - November 

Session 1: Tuesday, October 22, 2019 at 7:30 a.m. 
Recognizing and Addressing Gaslighting in the Workplace

Binnu Palta Hill, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Wisconsin School of Business, University of Wisconsin–Madison
In the workplace, women and people of color, and individuals whose perspective is outnumbered are often targets of gaslighting by those seeking power and control. Gaslighting is a common manipulation technique that is carried out by undermining another individual’s ability and questioning their worth. It occurs most often when there is an imbalance of power, creating a dependent relationship.

Gaslighting is difficult to recognize when happening to oneself because the person engaging in manipulation does so by concealing and clouding their efforts. Although it is difficult to identify, there are patterns of behavior that gaslighters use to destabilize their targets and others around them. The impact on the victims can be profound, ranging from a loss of self-esteem, motivation and inability to make decisions. It can influence a high-achieving person to become anxious and/or depressed, causing a stagnation in his/her career advancement. In this session, we will discuss the definition of gaslighting, the way it is used, as well as how we can recognize and address it to avoid its impact on us personally and professionally.

Thank you to our Catering Sponsor:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software